Motherhood…

I’m reading this beautiful book Great with child by Beth Ann Fennely which I recommend for all new moms and moms to be. And last night I read this beautiful phrase which I wanted to share as it really touched me.. I felt as if Fennely spoke right from my heart. It’s kind of reassuring..to know others are also afraid to fail.

“Motherhood, for you I gave up guarantees and road maps, for you I traded my plaid uniform skirt for a cardboard rocket ship. For you, I have appeared indecorous, and, more than once, worse than indecorous. Yes I have been downright foolish. And it would seem you give so little in return -no patches! No gold stars! Not even a sash! I cannot fully predict or perfect you, I will spend my life attempting it, and I will fail, I will fail because I know that ten life times aren’t enough. And that is both my sorrow and my deep, thrumming joy.”

Leave a comment

Filed under BB

Leave a Reply

