Regrets towards the end of our life

palliativ

A palliative nurse from Australia who was accompanying the dying during their last days recorded their most common regrets they had towards the end of their lives. ‘I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me’ andI wish I hadn’t worked so hard‘ was what most of the people regretted, men in particular. Those were two of the top five regrets of dying people .
Followed by I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings,
I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends  and
I wish that I had let myself be happier.

After many years of work as a palliative nurse Bronnie Ware has published now a book inspired and based on her experience she has lived with her patients. Ware has worked in a bank until the end of her twenties, before becoming a palliative nurse. Today she’s a singer and songwriter. She knows mow that she has to live her life the way she wants it to.

Life is a choice. It is YOUR life. Choose conciously, choose wisely, choose honestly. Choose happiness.’

I must admit, I often think of that moment when you’ll look back on your life.. What will I be thinking? I try to live every day as if it would be the last one (or least – I remind myself very often to do so) And I must admit I cannot really relate to those top five. I can say for sure that I have no regrets concerning my family life, the choices I’ve made, the opportunities I’ve seized, the risks I’ve taken.. I couldn’t imagine being happier.
But I admit that I have doubts concerning my working life. I fear that one day I might look back at my life and think that I’ve not lived my passion, that I have not found what was ment for me and have wasted my live doing a job that wasn’t really mine.  I truly believe what they say, that we all have a talent given to us (or two  or three..) and that the purpose of our lives is to find and foster it. I like being an architect but somehow.. I just don’t feel that I’m doing the right kind of job.. right kind of architecture. You know that feeling when you ask yourself  ‘what am I doing here?’ At least that’s how I feel at the moment. Em always tells me that I have to be patient, the right moment and the right opportunity will come – I hope so.
What about you?

Bronnie Ware also has a blog

Leave a comment

Filed under THIS&THAT

Leave a Reply

